- Detroit's Hands-Free Ordinance bans the use of a cell-phone while driving unless the driver is using a hands-free device. The ban, however, is a civil infraction and only enforced as a secondary offense. In other words, the driver must be pulled over for another traffic violation before he/she can be ticketed for cell phone use. Fines are $100. Like most laws that ban cell-phone use while driving, the ordinance excepts emergencies.
- According to ClickonDetroit.com, the recently passed Distracting Behavior Ordinance is similarly enforced and bans other distracting behaviors, such as text messaging, applying makeup and eating while driving.
Note: Michigan passed legislation that will ban text messaging while driving as of July 1st, 2010. Unlike the Detroit ordinances that make cell-phone infractions secondary offenses, however, police will be able to pull over Michigan drivers if they're seen texting while moving down a highway or street in a motor vehicle. The only exceptions to the new infractions are for the use of GPS, the reporting of emergencies, or emergency personnel. While an infraction comes with a hefty fine -- $100 for the first offense, $200 for the second -- it won't translate into points. The fines collected will go toward supporting local libraries.
Some other notable driving ordinances in Detroit:
- Only two people can be in the front seat while driving, and they have to keep their distance. In other words, the driver is forbidden from slinging an arm around their front-seat passenger. Likewise, the passenger can't put their arm around the driver.
- Drivers cannot splash pedestrians.
- Right on red is allowed in the absence of a posted restriction.
- Motorcycle drivers must wear a crash helmet.